Skip navigation |

Previous winners

Each year the Groves Prizes are awarded to individuals and organisations making an outstanding contribution to British music.

Last modified on: 20/04/2015

Sir Charles Groves Prize

Each year a bespoke trophy is awarded to an individual or organisation making an outstanding contribution to British music, as selected by Making Music's Board of Directors.

Previous recipients include:

2014 - Nicola Benedetti

2013 - Darren Henley
2012 - Gareth Malone
2011 - Sing Up
2010 - Sir Colin Davis
2009 - Larry Westland CBE
2008 - Susannah Simons and Roger Wright
2007 - Howard Goodall
2006 - Glastonbury Festival for Contemporary Performing Arts
2005 - Gavin Henderson
2004 - Clive Gillinson
2003 - Christopher Bell
2002 - The Lindsays
2002 - Valerie Baulard of the Langcliffe Singers, Yorkshire (Sir Charles Groves Internal Prize)
2001 - Philip Langridge
2001 - Elizabeth Emerson of Young Musicians Stornoway (Sir Charles Groves Internal Prize)
2000 - Edinburgh International Music Festival
2000 - Richard White of the Phoenix Singers, Shrewsbury (Sir Charles Groves Internal Prize)

Lady Hilary Groves Prize

This prestigious prize, a certificate signed by Making Music's patron, the Duchess of Kent, is presented annually to an individual from a Making Music member group making an outstanding contribution to music in the community.

The prize was formerly known as the Sir Charles Groves Internal Prize and was awarded alongside the Sir Charles Groves Prize (see above). It was renamed in 2003 following the death of Lady Hilary Groves – a vice president of Making Music and an ardent supporter of amateur music making in the UK.

Previous recipients include:

2014 - Andrea Encinas of British Gospel Arts

2013 - Adrian Brown of Stoneleigh Youth Orchestra Society
2012 - Peter and Vivien Harrison of Grayshott Concerts and Graham Reid of Aberdeen Strathspey & Reel Society
2010 - Victoria Vandy of Watford Symphony Orchestra
2009 - Dr. Maheshwar Godbole of the Indian Classical Music Society
2008 - Julia O'Connor-Beach of Tyndale Choral Society
2007 - Vivienne Bellos of Alyth Choral Society
2006 - Margaret Frogson of Nottingham Symphonic Winds
2005 - Martin Hooper of Sowerby Music Club
2004 - David Aylett of Aylesbury Festival Choir


Our website uses cookies. By continuing to browse the site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies. Find out more about our cookies policy.