Clara Schumann & Friends | Farrenc, Tchaikovsky & Brahms

FARRENC Overture no. 1 in E minor, op. 23
TCHAIKOVSKY Sérénade mélancolique, op.26
SCHUMANN 4 Pieces Caractéristiques, op.5 arr. George Morton - conductor & arranger
BRAHMS Symphony no. 2 in D major, op. 73

George Morton, conductor
Charlotte Pinder, violin

Join us as we open our 74th Concert Series with a bang!

Louise Farrenc, the French composer and virtuoso pianist, left behind a small but important oeuvre of orchestral repertoire. Her first overture is an 18th century masterpiece and a sparkling opening to the concert. Charlotte Pinder joins us for Tchaikovsky’s devastatingly beautiful Sérénade mélancolique before we give the world premiere of an orchestral arrangement, by Musical Director George Morton, of Clara Schumann’s 4 Pieces Caractéristiques, originally written for solo piano. 2019 marks the 200th anniversary of Schumann’s birth and this evening we celebrate her innovation and seismic impact on classical music. Johannes Brahms’, Clara’s close friend and confidant, second Symphony rounds off the programme!

Event date: 
Saturday, 9 November 2019 - 7:00pm to 9:45pm
Ticket Prices: 
General Admission £10.00/£12 OTD Concession £8.00/£10 OTD Student/U18 £5.00/£75.0 OTD
Event Poster: 
Victoria Hall
Norfolk Street
S1 2JB Sheffield
United Kingdom