Shostakovich Leningrad symphony

COPLAND: Fanfare for the common man
BARBER: Adagio

Copland wrote Fanfare for the Common Man in response to the US entry into the Second World War, while Barber’s Adagio, so full of pathos and passion, was voted by BBC’s Today programme listeners as ‘the saddest classical work ever’.

It is Shostakovich who offers us a glimpse into the real horrors of war with his Symphony No. 7 in C major, entitled Leningrad. A symbol of resistance to the totalitarianism of the Nazi invasion, it serves as a memorial to the more than 25 million people who died in Russia in World War Two.

Event date: 
Saturday, 17 February 2018 -
7:30pm to 10:00pm
Ticket Prices: 
Tonbridge School Chapel
High Street/London Road
TN9 1JP Tonbridge
United Kingdom