Brompton string quartet


Haydn - String Quartet in G minor, Op 74 No 3 ‘the Horseman’; 

Prokofiev - String Quartet No 1 in B minor, Op.50; 

Schubert - Quartettsatz; 

Beethoven - String Quartet in F major, Op 59 No 1  'Razumovsky'


The Brompton Quartet was formed in 2018, taking its name from the Brompton Cemetery where they gave their first performance. They achieved almost instant success by winning the St Martins-in-the-Fields competition, which has led to a series of concerts in London and around the UK.


After retiring from the service of the Esterhazy family, Josef Haydn enjoyed enormous success on his visits to London; his quartets Op 71 and 74 were written for this new market, and show the composer at the height of his powers. The “horseman” quartet takes its name from the galloping theme in the thrilling finale.

Prokofiev's first quartet was commissioned by the Library of Congress in 1931, and the first performance was given in Washington DC.  It is full of dramatic twists and turns from the jaunty opening to the lyrical and solemn final movement.

Beethoven’s three quartets, Op.59, were commissioned by the Russian ambassador to Vienna, Count Razumovsky. They marked a revolution in quartet writing, with a new grandeur and dramatic power, and making considerable technical demands on the players. 

The Brompton Quartet is the winner of the St Martin’s Chamber Music Competition 2019

Event date: 
Saturday, 18 September 2021 - 8:00pm to 10:00pm
Ticket Prices: 
£16, under 25s free
Event Poster: 
St Mary-le-More
Market Place
OX10 0EG Wallingford
United Kingdom