Winter Concert

Conductor: Ian Brown

Violin: Laura Samuel
Viola: Scott Dickinson

Henley Symphony Orchestra is delighted to open its 48th season in the splendid Reading Concert Hall by welcoming Laura Samuel and Scott Dickinson as soloists. They will play Mozart’s richly expressive Sinfonia Concertante, where Mozart’s favourite instrument, the viola, is complemented by the violin in an interplay of equals. Laura is leader of the BBC Scottish Symphony Orchestra and Scott is principal viola. Both players are eminent chamber musicians and members of the Nash Ensemble. Our Reading concert opens with Schubert’s charming Rosamunde Overture. The opera no longer survives but the incidental music, happily for us, lives on. Debussy’s La Mer, his deeply moving impressionistic evocation of the sea, was composed in Eastbourne in 1905. We complete the evening with the first two of Debussy’s Three Nocturnes, which were inspired by the artist James Whistler.

Schubert: Rosamunde Overture
Mozart: Sinfonia Concertante for Violin and Viola
Finzi: Clarinet Concerto
Debussy: La Mer
Debussy: Nocturnes - Nuages and Fêtes

Event date: 
Sunday, 12 November 2017 -
4:00pm to 7:00pm
Ticket Prices: 
£10, £12 and £16 tickets available Half price tickets for students and under 16s Groups: 1 in 8 free 1 child free with each paying adult (£10 and £12 tickets)
Reading Concert Hall
Blagrave Street
RG1 1QH Reading
United Kingdom