Lakeland Sinfonia - October concert with Royal Northern Sinfonia

This is one of our six subscription series concerts, and is included within a member’s subscription ticket.

Overview: Our opening concert has an American theme and includes Copland’s joyous ‘Appalachian Spring’, Barber’s intense ‘Adagio’ for strings and his quirky ‘Capricorn Concerto’. Completing the programme is the Second Violin Concerto of Philip Glass, ‘The American Four Seasons’ an affectionate tribute to Vivaldi, unusual for its use of a synthesiser within the body of strings and adding a modern touch to the music.

Our conductor for the evening is Karin Hendrickson who is the Associate Artist at Sage Gateshead, Assistant Conductor of the Royal Northern Sinfonia, and Music Director of the Young Sinfonia in association with RNS.

COPLAND: Appalachian Spring Suite
BARBER: Adagio for Strings
BARBER: Capricorn Concerto
PHILIP GLASS: Violin Concerto No. 2 ‘The American Four Seasons’

Kyra Humphreys violin, Stephen Hudson oboe, Richard Martin trumpet, Amy Yule flute

Event date: 
Saturday, 5 October 2019 - 6:30pm to 9:30pm
Ticket Prices: 
Also £25 for Grand Tier and £5 for under 19s and full-time students
Kendal Leisure Centre
Burton Road
LA9 7HX Kendal
United Kingdom