Morpeth Music Society concert: Gitarrissima guitar ensemble

Programme (on occasion, the artists may make minor changes to the published programme)
Rossini  The Barber of Seville: Overture
Bizet/Schedrin Four Movements from the 'Carmen Suite' Torero, Changing of the Guard, Habanera, Bolero
Elgar  (arr. Olga Dimitrova) Chanson de Matin
Gershwin Porgy and Bess: Medley
Andrew York Bantu from the 'African Suite'
Copland Hoe Down from the Ballet 'Rodeo'
Khachaturian Four Movements from the Ballet 'Gayaneh' Dance of Nuneh and Karen, Nuneh's Dance, Uzundara, Sabre Dance
Weiner (arr. Reka Mihalovics-Zottmann) Fox Dance from Divertimento No. 1 Op 20
Stainov Rachenitsa from the Suite 'Thracian Dances'
All works are arranged by Krisztina Groß-Dobo except for the original work by Andrew York and where otherwise stated.
Gitarrissima is a first for Morpeth Music Society! An all female guitar quintet playing an enticing programme of well-known tunes on their octave, concert and acoustic bass guitars.  The ensemble was formed in 2001 and has continued to delight audiences in different line-ups over the last two decades.
The programme for Morpeth includes arrangements from Bizet's Carmen, Gershwin's Porgy & Bess and Copland's Rodeo.  Our audience can look forward to seasonal refreshments of mince pies and non-alcoholic mulled wine during the interval!
'Gitarrissima, an all-female guitar quintet from Vienna, who played well-known and some lesser-known works arranged for guitar ... with great brio, virtuosity and individuality' The Cross-Eyed Pianist
Gitarrissima is playing on Hannabach strings.
Event date: 
Thursday, 12 December 2019 - 7:30pm to 9:30pm
Ticket Prices: 
Adult season ticket for 6 concerts £69 Single ticket £16 Age 18 and under FREE
Morpeth Methodist Church
Howard Terrace
NE61 1HU Morpeth
United Kingdom