British Composer Awards

Entries are now open for the 2018 British Composer Awards. Anyone, including the composer, can enter eligible works, and entries across all twelve award categories are judged anonymously.

The British Composer Awards promote the art of composition, recognise the creative talent of composers and sound artists, and bring their music to a wider audience. They are unique in making contemporary classical music, jazz and sonic art the focus of their annual celebration. This year we are expanding our celebration of jazz composers with two categories for Jazz Composition. Works that received a UK première performance, either live or broadcast, between 1 April 2017 and 31 March 2018 are eligible across the following categories:

  • Amateur or Young Performers
  • Chamber Ensemble
  • Choral
  • Community or Educational Project
  • Jazz Composition for Small Ensemble
  • Jazz Composition for Large Ensemble
  • Orchestral
  • Small Chamber
  • Solo or Duo
  • Sonic Art
  • Stage Works
  • Wind Band or Brass Band


Entries are made via our Entry Site, where you can also find our full Rules and Guidelines and Eligibility Criteria. Visit to enter works. The closing date for entries is Monday 9 July 2018.

The British Composer Awards are presented by BASCA and sponsored by PRS for Music. The event is in association with BBC Radio 3 providing exclusive broadcast coverage.

The British Composer Awards will take place on Tuesday 4 December in the BP Lecture Theatre and East Foyer of the British Museum, London.


Presented by BASCA, sponsored by PRS for Music, in association with BBC Radio 3.