Lady Hilary Groves Prize

This prestigious prize, a certificate signed by Making Music's patron HRH the Duchess of Kent, is presented annually to an individual from a Making Music member group who has made an outstanding contribution to music in the community, or the success of their music group.

Nominations for the 2019 Award are now closed. All nominators will be contacted by the end of September.

The prize is named after Lady Hilary Groves, a Vice President of Making Music and an ardent supporter of leisure-time music making in the UK.

If you're from a Making Music member group, you can nominate someone from your music group who has:

•    made a discernible difference to the musical life of your local community; or 
•    significantly contributed to the success of your music group.

Examples of an outstanding contribution might include:
•    spearheading the artistic development of your music group; 
•    masterminding projects involving other local community groups;
•    developing projects which have extended music to new audiences in your area; 
•    generating initiatives which have encouraged local young musicians at the outset of their careers;
•    developing the organisational, administrational or financial structures of your group;
•    encouraging your group to undertake projects administered by Making Music.

The winner is selected from individual music makers nominated by their group.

Mark Lawrence of the Big Friendly Choir was presented with the 2018 prize by board member, Glynne Stackhouse, at the premiere performance of Mark's community opera, 1918: Home at Last who said: 

"The huge church was crowded with an audience that was obviously mainly connected with the performers and they clearly enjoyed themselves. I was struck by the quality of the music and of the performance, and by the wide range of people, from primary school age to post-retirement, taking part in it. I think Mark was a really deserving recipient."

Past winners

2018: Mark Lawrence of the Big Friendly Choir
2017: Clare Edwards of notorious choir
2016: Lila Hallett of Chester Music Society
2015: Angela Kay of Music for Everyone
2014: Andrea Encinas of British Gospel Arts
2013: Adrian Brown of Stoneleigh Youth Orchestra Society
2012: Peter and Vivien Harrison of Grayshott Concerts and Graham Reid of Aberdeen Strathspey & Reel Society
2010: Victoria Vandy of Watford Symphony Orchestra
2009: Dr. Maheshwar Godbole of the Indian Classical Music Society
2008: Julia O'Connor-Beach of Tyndale Choral Society
2007: Vivienne Bellos of Alyth Choral Society
2006: Margaret Frogson of Nottingham Symphonic Winds
2005: Martin Hooper of Sowerby Music Club
2004: David Aylett of Aylesbury Festival Choir
2002: Valerie Baulard of the Langcliffe Singers, Yorkshire (Sir Charles Groves Internal Prize)
2001: Elizabeth Emerson of Young Musicians Stornoway (Sir Charles Groves Internal Prize)
2000: Richard White of the Phoenix Singers, Shrewsbury (Sir Charles Groves Internal Prize)


Lady Hilary Groves and NFMS Chairman Jo Churchill present the 1992 prize to Bromsgrove Concerts’ Jim Page


The annual Lady Hilary Groves prize is awarded alongside the Sir Charles Groves Prize, a biennial national prize given to an individual or organisation making an outstanding contribution to British music, as selected by Making Music's Board of Management.