St Martin's Chamber Music Competition

The St Martin-in-the-Fields' Chamber Music Competition, run in association with Making Music, awards an outstanding young ensemble with performance opportunities.

The competition embodies St Martin’s commitment to the discovery, nurture and promotion of new and emerging musical talent and continues a long history of musical excellence and artistic contribution at the heart of London.

Winners of the 2019 competition, the Brompton Quartet are named after the group's first performance, which took place in Brompton cemetery. The members of the quartet come from the UK, Austria and Slovenia, and are studying at the Royal College and Royal Academy of Music in London. Since the Brompton Quartet's formation in September 2018, they have worked with artists such as Daniel Rowland (Brodsky Quartet), Mats Zitterqvist (Chamber Orchestra of Europe), Mark Messenger and the Harlem Quartet.

All four members of the group are active orchestral musicians and soloists, and have individually participated in festivals including the St Endellion Festival, Uppingham International Music Festival, Music Festival Peterborough, the Padova Music Festival and and Stift International Music Festival. Prizes won by individual members of the group include First Prize at the 13th Concorso Internazionale per Giovani Strumentisti, Third Prize and the special Szymanowski Award at the first International Karol Szymanowski Competition in Katowice, Poland, and First Prize at the first International Tartini Competition, the Cambridge University Instrumental Award, and the Inaugural Peterhouse Camerata Musica chamber music prize. 

The Brompton quartet look forward to upcoming recitals around London and the UK, and to traveling to Slovenia to perform in Summer 2019.

Subsidies are available for Making Music member groups to engage the competition winners at affordable prices, and to promote this exceptional ensemble at the start of their career.

Find out more about applying for the competition

2019 winner: Brompton Quartet

Past winners

2018: Barbican Quartet
2017: Zelkova Quartet
2016: Pelléas Ensemble
Jørgensen Trio
2014: Aurea Quartet
2013: Jubilee String Quartet
2012: Jaquin Trio
2011: BMF Piano Trio
2010: Piatti String Quartet