Bach: Cantatas and Brandenburg Concertos

J.S. Bach: Cantatas 42 & 140, Suite No. 4 & Brandenburg 6


Bach    Cantata 140 ‘Wachet auf, ruft uns die Stimme’

Bach    Orchestral Suite No. 4

Bach    Brandenburg Concerto No. 6

Bach    Cantata 42 ‘Am Abend aber desselbigen Sabbats’



Kate Semmens soprano

Francis Gush countertenor

Bradley Smith tenor

Stuart O’Hara bass

Tassilo Erhardt & Patrick Rimes viola

members of Essex Baroque Orchestra

directed by Steven Devine

Steven Devine’s Bach series continues with two great cantatas, sung as Bach intended with four solo voices and a small ensemble. No. 42, ‘Am Abend aber desselbigen Sabbats’, is a profound sound picture of the risen Jesus appearing to his disciples. No. 140, ‘Wachet auf’, combines settings of Nicolai’s great chorale with ecstatic dialogues between Jesus and the Soul. Brandenburg Concerto no. 6 turns the conventions of the Baroque concerto on its head: two violas, normally lowly members of the orchestra, are given virtuosic solo parts, accompanied by just two bass viols, violoncello and continuo. The brilliant Suite or Ouverture no. 4 is remarkable for its rich interplay between three oboes and bassoon and a string quartet with continuo.

Steven Devine is one of the world’s leading early music specialists, celebrated as a soloist as well as a director of leading ensembles here and abroad.

Event date: 
Saturday, 27 August 2022 - 7:00pm to 9:00pm
Ticket Prices: 
£20 reserved, £15 unreserved (half-price for those under 30)
Event Poster: 
St Mary's Church CO6 4QU Stoke-by-Nayland
United Kingdom