Lady Hilary Groves Prize

The Lady Hilary Groves prize is presented to a member nominated by their group for their outstanding contribution to music in the community.

The prize was formerly known as the Sir Charles Groves Internal Prize and was awarded alongside the Sir Charles Groves Prize. It was renamed in 2003 following the death of Lady Hilary Groves – a Vice President of Making Music and an ardent supporter of amateur music making in the UK.

This prestigious prize, a certificate signed by Making Music's patron, HRH the Duchess of Kent, is presented annually to an individual from a Making Music member group making an outstanding contribution to music in the community.

The winner is selected from individual music makers nominated by their group for their outstanding contribution to music in the community.

2017 prize - how to nominate

Why not acknowledge your group’s gratitude by putting forward a nomination for one of your members or contributors?

  1. Download and complete the nomination form
  2. Attach a full description of the nominee’s contribution to music-making in their group or community. You may wish to include information about the nominee’s organisational or artistic skills, the duration of their involvement, details of any special events organised or the particular significance of their nominations. Please limit additional information to four single-sided pages.
  3. Consider photocopying your application for your reference.
  4. Return the completed nomination and supporting documents to or by post to 'Groves Award, Making Music, 8 Holyrood Street, London, SE1 2EL'.

2017 award nominations have now closed, the winner will be announced shortly.

Download nomination form

Please call us at the office on 020 7939 6030 if you have any additional questions.

Past winners

2016: Lila Hallett of Chester Music Society
2015: Angela Kay of Music for Everyone
2014: Andrea Encinas of British Gospel Arts
2013: Adrian Brown of Stoneleigh Youth Orchestra Society
2012: Peter and Vivien Harrison of Grayshott Concerts and Graham Reid of Aberdeen Strathspey & Reel Society
2010: Victoria Vandy of Watford Symphony Orchestra
2009: Dr. Maheshwar Godbole of the Indian Classical Music Society
2008: Julia O'Connor-Beach of Tyndale Choral Society
2007: Vivienne Bellos of Alyth Choral Society
2006: Margaret Frogson of Nottingham Symphonic Winds
2005: Martin Hooper of Sowerby Music Club
2004: David Aylett of Aylesbury Festival Choir
2002: Valerie Baulard of the Langcliffe Singers, Yorkshire (Sir Charles Groves Internal Prize)
2001: Elizabeth Emerson of Young Musicians Stornoway (Sir Charles Groves Internal Prize)
2000: Richard White of the Phoenix Singers, Shrewsbury (Sir Charles Groves Internal Prize)